A Surprise Round Every Corner

I love research, finding the little details. I guess that as you are writing almost on behalf of the characters, you want to get the details exactly right.
Great post, Sandie.

Sandie Docker

At the Sydney Writers’ Festival on the weekend, one of the events I went to was ‘The Most Unlikely of Paces’ all about authors and their research. It was a fascinating panel and one that I was particularly interested in because one of the things that has surprised me most about my own writing journey, is the amount of research I’ve had to do for my two novels, despite the fact I write contemporary fiction.

If you haven’t read Brooks, do. She’s brilliant.

If I were writing historical fiction, then I would expect to have to do a lot of research. Geraldine Brooks, an absolute writing God when it comes to this genre, does so much research for each of her novels it is mind-blowing. But when you write a story about the first Native American to graduate Harvard in 1665(Caleb’s Crossing), or a story about an English village cutting…

View original post 624 more words

Leave a Reply

